Friendship Veterans Fire Engine Association
The Rev. Benjamin A. Lynt Distinguished Service Award

The Friendship Veterans Fire Engine Association annually presents the Reverend Ben Lynt Distinguished Service Award to an Alexandria citizen, business or municipal leader. This award is named in Reverend Lynt’s honor to remember a man who was known for his generosity, spirit of community and his service as a chaplain for our Company.

When not at the Firehouse, Reverend Lynt served as pastor of Alexandria's Second Presbyterian Church for 44 years before retiring in 1994. He supported programs for single and widowed adults, performed premarital counseling and organized programs for teenagers and young children. He served on civic committees in Alexandria that helped bring about desegregation of lunch counters in the 1950s and established a chaplaincy service at Alexandria Hospital. He was also chaplain of Alexandria's Washington Masonic Lodge, president of the Sunrise Optimist Club and president of the Yates Garden Club.

A citizen of Alexandria for over 40 years and a member of the Friendship Veterans Fire Engine Association for over 30, Reverend Lynt was an extraordinary member of the community and one whose life’s work can serve as an example to us all.

Reverend Ben Lynt Distinguished Service Awardees
2000    Vola Lawson
2001    Donald F. Simpson, Sr.
2002    Michael A. Conner, Sr.
2003    Kerry J. Donley
2004    Oscar P. Ryder
2005    Marian VanLandingham
2006    Thomas C. Bowling
2007    Jean Taylor Federico
2008    Bill Kehoe
2009    Ferdinand T. Day
2010    Not Awarded
2011    Bill Mayhugh
2012    Patsy Ticer
2013    Janet Barnett
2015    Lynnwood Campbell